Bonus Blog

Eowyn Challenge Update

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.” – J.R.R. Tolkien

I made it to Rivendell! And I met my goal to get there by the end of 2016. The next leg of the journey will take me to Lothlorien, and I’m planning on traveling those 462 miles by the end of 2017. I’m already 120 miles there!

Dat View Doe
This view took my breath away! (Or was that from running up the hill to see it?)

If you’re not familiar with the Eowyn Challenge, it was created over a decade ago around the time when the LOTR trilogy was in theaters. Essentially, it’s meant to motivate people to get out and exercise in some form that can be tracked by distance (i.e. running, walking, hiking, biking, swimming).

Last year, I hardly did any running, but I still made it to Rivendell with a few days to spare. I accumulated a lot of miles by just walking around campus going to class. This year I’ve already done more running than I did in all of 2016! Fingers crossed that I might make it to Lothlorien well before December 31.

I’m trying to take running a little less seriously than I did last year because I think that was the majority of the problem. Last year I kept trying to increase mileage and quickly came to the conclusion that I simply didn’t have time to run. This year, I’m trying to tell myself that even if I get out there and run for 15-20 minutes, it’s better than not running at all. And let’s be real, starting out with 15-20 minutes every few days sounds a lot more manageable than starting with 5-6 miles a week.

IMG_20170410_190824_516

And to reiterate Bilbo’s advice, it is a dangerous business. Especially when you realize that Starbucks isn’t that far away and the idea of a literal Starbucks run pops into your head. Let me tell you if you can end your run with Starbucks, you will be amazed at how fast you can run. I do believe this will be quite dangerous for my wallet.

2 thoughts on “Eowyn Challenge Update

  1. Going into this post I could already feel my lungs start to burn but when I read walking counts my heart started to slow. Seems a lot more manageable that not just running counts towards this challenge. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Comment

