Baking

Salsa Pork Chops

 

spc5
Salsa pork chop served with yellow rice and steamed broccoli.

 

I told you I was going to start branching out into savory baked foods, and here you go! Lately, I’ve been getting tired of my plain garlic pan-seared pork chops and I wanted to spice things up a little (pun intended). Several years ago my brother made these pork chops baked in salsa and topped with cheese, and I thought that would be a great way to add flavor and keep in the moisture.

The recipe I’m about to share makes 1-2 servings. Since I’m cooking only for myself these days, I really don’t want to cook 3-4 chops and have to eat that for the next two weeks. And freezing/reheating pre-cooked pork chops doesn’t sound like a great idea to me. (See above about moisture.) If you’ve ever done that, though, let me know if it works!

 

spc3
Always check your meats for doneness! Go here for tips on cooking pork.

 

Anyway, enough of my rambling. I found this recipe very yummy. I used a medium salsa and a Mexican cheese blend and it was perfect, but feel free to use whatever salsa and cheese that make your taste buds happy. I also made some yellow rice for a side and it went very well with the salsa. Spanish rice or that cilantro lime rice from Chipotle would probably pair nicely as well. Overall, it was a delicious meal and I plan on making it again!

Salsa Pork Chops

Ingredients

(Makes 1 pork chop. Scale it up if you desire more than one.)

  • 1 thick boneless, skinless pork chop
  • 1 Tbsp cooking oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • 1/4 shredded cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F and heat up the cooking oil in a frying pan. (If you have an oven-safe pan, use that.)
  2. Once the pan is hot, carefully place the pork chop in the oil. Sear for about a minute on all sides, including around the edges. Sprinkle each side with a little salt and pepper for flavor. Remove from heat.
  3. Place your pork chop in an oven-safe dish (or keep it in your pan if it’s oven-safe). Pour the salsa on top and place in the oven for 30-40 minutes. Check for doneness with a meat thermometer. (145°F for medium-rare or 160°F for medium.)
  4. Once it’s done, sprinkle the cheese on top and put it back in the oven for 1-2 minutes to melt. (This won’t make a huge difference to the doneness of the pork.)
  5. Let the pork chop rest before serving.

 

spc4
Cheesy salsa goodness!

 

2 thoughts on “Salsa Pork Chops

Leave a Comment

