Baking

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Whoever thought to combine pumpkin pie and cheesecake is a genius. Seriously, this tastes exactly like a pumpkin pie and a cheesecake had a baby, or at least what I imagine that would taste like. I think if you made this instead of pie on Thanksgiving, it would be just as good, if not better.

pcc2

I got this recipe from Paula Deen, and I think it’s weird that Food Network won’t air her show, but they still have her recipes on their website. Go figure. Anyway, I think I messed up somewhere along the way with this recipe and I’m pretty sure it was because not all the ingredients were at room temperature when I mixed them together. I know that it caused little pieces of cream cheese that didn’t get homogenized in the batter, and I’m guessing it had something to do with the center of the cake deflating. If you’re a cheesecake expert, let me know what caused the deflating in the comments.

I made this recipe twice, and still managed to mess it up the second time. Cheesecakes are hard to make and I now fully appreciate why one slice costs $8 at the Cheesecake Factory. I did change some things with Paula’s recipe, and you’re going to be surprised (sarcasm) because it involves butter. Paula uses a whole stick of the stuff in her crust, but it ended up melting through the cracks in the pan somehow and dripping all over the oven. So I reduced it to half a stick, and that seemed to do all right. I also subbed three spices for just pumpkin pie spice because it made my life easier. (Pumpkin pie spice comprises those three spices anyway.) And make sure that all your ingredients are at room temperature, not just the cream cheese. I discovered even one cold ingredient will cause the cream cheese to get cold again. You can call it a thermodynamics problem.

pcc1
It may be deflated, but if there’s anything I’ve learned from the Patriots, it’s that deflated things can win championships!

If you absolutely love pumpkin and that time of year when pumpkin spice is everywhere you turn, then you’re going to love my blog this October. Every Friday there will be a new pumpkin recipe for you to enjoy, beginning with this one. I hope you’re as excited as I am! And if you’re craving pumpkin and can’t wait until next week, I’ve got more recipes like Pumpkin Rice Krispie Treats, Pumpkin Bread, and Pumpkin Spice Lattes!

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Ingredients

  • 1 ¾ cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 3 Tbsp brown sugar
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ stick melted butter
  • 3 – 8 oz packages of cream cheese
  • 1 – 15 oz can pumpkin puree
  • 3 eggs plus 1 yolk
  • ¼ cup sour cream
  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and prepare a 9-inch springform pan with non-stick spray.
  2. For the crust, combine the graham cracker crumbs, cinnamon, brown sugar, and melted butter. Press into the bottom of the springform pan and along the sides a bit.
  3. For the filling, beat cream cheese with electric mixer until smooth. Add the pumpkin puree, eggs, egg yolk, sour cream, sugar, and pumpkin spice. Then add the flour and vanilla and mix until well combined.
  4. Pour the filling into the prepared crust and bake for 1 hour. Remove from oven and let sit 15 minutes before covering with plastic wrap and placing in the refrigerator for 4 hours to set.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cheesecake

Leave a Comment

