Books and Beverages

Books and Beverages (#11)

My three books a month goal isn’t looking so great. I’m six books behind, but I’m determined to catch back up. After all, the year is still young and it’s not yet halfway over. In May I’m hoping to read four books to start catching up. Please hold me accountable. Without further ado, here are the books and beverages I enjoyed (sort of) this month.

Books

The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum

18687376It’s been almost two years since I gave a book a two-star rating on Goodreads. In fact, I almost gave up on this book after I’d read through about a quarter of it. But I didn’t want to set my reading goal any further back, so I drudged on. Honestly, I would’ve given it one star, but the actual story idea was pretty good. Basically, a man is found riddled with bullets floating in the Mediterranean. He’s lost all his memory due to a bullet in his hippocampus (memory center of the brain), but the rest of his brain is intact. Anyway, this piece of microfilm implanted in his hip leads him to a bank in Zurich where he finds out his name is Jason Bourne. Then, he finds out he is somehow involved with Europe’s infamous assassin, Carlos, and a mysterious American organization called Treadstone. He slowly uncovers facts and memories and tries to piece it all together as he’s being hunted down by Carlos.

Anyway, the basic outline has potential for a great novel, but the actual storytelling falls flat on its face. The writing style is so cheesy, I was rolling my eyes every chapter. And in the beginning is a completely unnecessary rape scene, not to mention that this book certainly doesn’t pass the Bechdel test. And the prominent female character, Marie, who becomes Jason’s love interest, is often referred to by other men as “the girl” or “the woman” and not by name. Call me a feminist, but it really started to bug me after the umpteenth time. Anyway, I recommend watching the movie instead. It’s much better than the book, and I don’t say that often.

Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein

20322241The Popsugar 2016 reading challenge calls for a book of poetry and it occurred to me I’d never read this book all the way through. Also, I needed a quick read to boost my Goodreads goal. Some of the poems I distinctly remember from my childhood. Silverstein has this silly whimsical way of writing poetry that’s great for reading to children. Lots of fun rhymes and things that found funny. There’s also cute little illustrations/cartoons that add to the poetry, and some of the poems are dependent on the pictures, so it makes for a cute and fun read. While I was reading it, I kept wondering how he even came up with some of the topics in his poems. Anyway, if you want something fun to read to kids or just something light and silly to keep you trucking along in life, this is a great book to pick up.

Beverages

Protein Hot Chocolate

I just made this the other night. I have a big can of protein powder that I bought for making some breakfast cookies, and I was trying to think of other uses for it. Then it struck me. What if hot cocoa had a little more protein in it and a little less guilt? I added a little powder to the cocoa packet mix and stirred in some hot milk and it wasn’t even that bad! It still tasted like hot cocoa, with a just a hint of protein shake, but not enough to make me gag. Anyway, I’m going to keep trying it out and maybe do a post on it once I’ve got the recipe right.

Bigelow Assorted Herbal Teas

I need variety in my tea. I don’t like to drink the same thing every day. So an assorted tea mix was a perfect choice. Inside the box is chamomile, mint, lemon, orange, pomegranate, and one that’s a mix of chamomile and mint. Without tea, I don’t think I could have made it through The Bourne Identity.

2 thoughts on “Books and Beverages (#11)

  1. Dang, the Bourne Identity sounds kinda like Blindspot (but with fewer tattoos and a lot more bullets) in theory. I’m sure that show is much better than this book. Can’t speak for the movie, though. And anybody in their right might would be bothered by such a blatant objectification of a woman. If she serves no purpose, you’re better off just not including her, especially if you aren’t going to treat her like a human.

    I’d say a book of Shel Silverstein poetry is the perfect choice post-tragedy-that-is-Bourne-Identity.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I think they were marketing Blindspot as “the female Jason Bourne.” And the movie is a good action thriller with better storytelling, but no Carlos. The character who gets raped is Marie, but the same events would still have happened afterward if Ludlum had left the rape out. It literally has no function in the story.
      Yes, Silverstein helped me cope.

      Like

Leave a Comment

