Books and Beverages

Books and Beverages (#10)

February was not a good month for reading and by that I mean that I got nothing read. So I made sure I did in March and I managed to get through two books during this crazy busy month.

Books

The Martian by Andy Weir

18007564

This book is amazing. It’s about an astronaut named Mark Watney who finds himself stranded on Mars after a bad windstorm caused his team to abort their mission. Mark nearly dies in the windstorm, and his team and NASA assume he’s dead. With his resourcefulness and great sense of humor, he starts planning how he can get rescued once he figures out a way to contact Earth. The science in this book is on point and it makes you realize how much of a real-world application all your science classes actually have. It’s an exciting read, and some parts had me on the edge of my seat so bad that I didn’t want to turn the page because I was scared of how bad it could get. Just when things get comfortable, Weir throws in some obstacle that Mark has to figure out how to conquer. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I’m really excited to see how they adapted it since it was up for so many Oscars. And Matt Damon.

The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien

7332

This books takes place in Middle Earth, and it basically gives you Middle Earth’s creation story and the mythology surrounding it. It makes sense of those references in The Lord of the Rings to the history and lore of Middle Earth, and explains where most of the races come from. It also has a couple chapters in the end about the Rings of Power and gives more insight on that. I recommend reading it after The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings because it does contain a few spoilers in the Rings of Power chapters. Also, since it focuses more on the lore, it’s a bit more dense and not as exciting as the those two books. It’s a very worthwhile read if you want to be a hardcore LOTR fan or just want some more knowledge regarding Tolkien’s world.

Beverages

Starbucks Cherry Blossom Frappuccino

When I first heard the name for this, I got excited. Then I read a description of the drink and found that it’s made out of strawberries and cream, white chocolate, and some matcha. Since they were offering it only a few days, I figured I should try it. It was good, but it tasted like a sweeter version of the strawberries and cream.

Starbucks Caramelized Honey Latte

When I was in Japan, I would go to Tully’s every week and get a honey milk latte. When I came back to America and asked a barista at Starbucks to make me a honey milk latte (I was hoping it might be like a secret menu thing) she looked at me blankly and wondered if putting a few honey packets in a  regular latte would suffice. It wasn’t the same, but I appreciated the effort. Then Starbucks came out with this caramelized honey latte and I thought finally someone had heard my cry. So I tried it. And it wasn’t anything like Tully’s in Japan. It’s really sweet and reminds me of so many of Starbucks other latte flavors, so it’s not a unique taste. I guess I’ll give them and A for effort.

3 thoughts on “Books and Beverages (#10)

  1. I’m so happy you loved The Martian. It became one of those life-changing books for me. This post reminded me that I need to get to the Lord of the Rings! Should I start with The Hobbit or the actually trilogy?

    Like

    1. It was so good! Yes, you do! You can start with either one first. If you want to start with something a little less dense and less dark, go with The Hobbit. If you don’t, then go with LOTR.

      Like

Leave a Comment

