Baking

Pintertest #6: Cinnamon Roll Apple Pie

I had a good laugh when I realized what the acronym for the name of this pie is. I’ll let you figure it out. Anyway, the acronym is the opposite of what this pie tastes like (or at least I imagine it to be; I’ve never tasted the acronym before). If you’re a fan of cinnamon or sweet things, then this is definitely a recipe for you.

This recipe has been going around on Pinterest for a long time, and the recipe I used is here. The basic idea is that instead of a normal crust, you roll out some pie dough, sprinkle it with cinnamon sugar, tightly roll it up, slice it, and press the slices into the bottom of a pie dish. The squished pie dough rolls resemble cinnamon rolls and it’s very pretty. It’s recommended you use a glass pie dish, so that you can see the pretty rolls from the outside and impress all your friends.

crap1
The crust after getting an egg wash. (I may have eaten a couple of the little pie dough rolls…)

You then fill the crust with a cinnamon and apple mixture (the recipe I used calls for both honeycrisp and granny smith, but you can use whatever apples you like). You top it all off with a brown sugar crumble mixture and throw it (gently) into the oven for an hour. After it’s cooled, you drizzle it with some cinnamon icing in a swirl to make it look like a cinnamon roll. Then you slice it up and serve with some vanilla ice cream. Yum!

crap2
The finished pie. It’s a lot taller than the one pictured in the original recipe, but I think I used too many apples by accident. Oops.

Here’s the link again if you want to try out the recipe yourself. Make sure you use 7-8 cups of apples, not 7-8 apples. I did that, and I think that might be why mine turned out so tall.

Where Have I Been?

I think it’s been about a month since my last post and I can explain. March was crazy. I intended this post to go up the Friday before Pi Day, but that clearly didn’t happen. I got slammed with homework and that took priority over blogging. Then, before I knew it, it was time for finals, so studying became the priority. Now, as I start a new quarter and start taking my Etsy shop a bit more seriously, I’m finding that my days are filled yet again. I’m slowly figuring things out, though, and I’m going to find some time for blogging in all this chaos. I might have to scale it down to one post a week, but I’ll see how everything plays out before making a final decision on that. If you’ve been wondering about Books and Beverages, I didn’t actually read anything in February, but March’s post will be up tomorrow, so stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Pintertest #6: Cinnamon Roll Apple Pie

Leave a Comment

