Baking

Pintertest #5: Reese’s Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies

rsc1

You voted for it in my last baking post, and here it is: the Reese’s Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies! Yum! These are really fun to make and the results are delicious. They even received approval from my family and my friends at school. You bite down into this super soft peanut butter cookie and surprise! There’s a miniature Reese’s in there! And they’re even more super delicious when they’re warm out of the oven.

The pin on Pinterest links back to a recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction. I left one part out, which is to drizzle melted chocolate mixed with peanut butter on top of the cookies. I’m sure they’re even more delicious with this included, so let me know if you try it out. The only thing I would do differently about the drizzle would be to do it while the cookies are still on the baking sheet. This would make clean up a lot easier.

Anyway, the picture on the pin shows cookies that are a lot thinner than mine. I think this is because I flattened the cookies before baking, but I think you’re supposed to flatten them right after they come out of the oven. However, the tastiness of the cookie does not depend on the thickness, in my opinion. The only thing I’d like to add in the directions is how far apart to place the cookies on the sheet. I found that it was about 2-3 inches.

rsc2

Ingredients

Cookies

  • 1 ¼ cups all purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup dark brown sugar
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ¾ cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 18 unwrapped Reese’s miniatures

Drizzle (optional)

  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 2 teaspoons creamy peanut butter

Directions

  1. In a medium-size bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  2. With an electric mixer, cream butter and sugars until smooth. Add in the egg, peanut butter, and vanilla and combine until well incorporated.
  3. Slowly mix in the dry ingredients, scraping the sides of the bowl. Combine until dough is formed.
  4. Turn out dough onto a large piece of plastic wrap and form into a disc. Wrap it in the plastic and refrigerate until firm (about 1 hour).
  5. Remove dough from refrigerator. Preheat oven to 350°F. Take 1 tablespoon of dough and roll it into a ball. Make 36 balls. Take 1 ball, and press a Reese’s into it, then place another ball on top and mold the dough so it covers the Reese’s. (There are some pictures on SBA that depict this really well.) Roll the stuffed ball in your hand to make it smooth. Repeat with the remaining Reese’s. Place cookies about 2-3 inches apart on the baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until golden brown on the edges. (For softer cookies, do not brown.) Press down the warm cookies to flatten. Allow to cool on the sheet for about 10-15 minutes before transferring to wire rack. (Leave them on the sheet if you’re planning to do the drizzle.)
  7. Optional drizzle: Melt the chocolate chips and 2 teaspoons peanut butter. You can do this in the microwave, stirring often, or in a small sauce pan over medium heat, stirring often. (SBA says microwave, but I’d prefer the stove top. It’s up to you.) Pour the drizzle into an empty condiment bottle and drizzle over cookies in pretty patterns. Transfer to wire cooling rack. The drizzle will harden within a few hours.

 

2 thoughts on “Pintertest #5: Reese’s Stuffed Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Reese’s are one of my favorite candies and I have a memory involving peanut butter cookies that I cherish very dearly so this sounds like a recipe I should try out one day! I should also mention that when I was reading the ingredients, I read “1 large egg” as “1 creamy egg” so I had a bit of an existential crisis.

    Like

Leave a Comment

