Bonus Blog

Run Like A Nerd

71e12c6dc63b9f1652045812d1143c09
Source

I haven’t gone on a single run since I set my goal to run 300 miles this year, so I figured I could use some incentive. I tried this challenge last spring, but found it a little daunting. It’s called the Éowyn Challenge, and it gets its name from one of my favorite LOTR characters.

The idea is to track your mileage with whatever activity you can do so with, be it running, walking, hiking, swimming, biking, etc. (No, driving your car doesn’t count.) Through this journey, you can break free of your cage or whatever situation you feel trapped in. The challenge started over a decade ago, but you can do it any time you like.

It originally began with the journey from Bag End to Rivendell from The Fellowship of the Ring. Of course, the journey doesn’t end at Rivendell, so there are over a dozen different paths you can follow, including ones from The Hobbit. And there are mileage charts so you can keep track of where you are in Middle Earth.

Basically, it’s a fun way to relive the events and journey of LOTR through fitness. I’m planning to make it from Bag End to Rivendell by the end of the year, a total of 458 miles. At least 300 of those will be running, which leaves me 158 to accomplish by walking, hiking, whatever. It seems pretty reasonable to me.

I’m excited to see where this journey will leave me at the end of the year. I’d be flattered if anyone joins me and would dub you my honorary Sam Gamgee.

lotr-one-does-not-simply-walk-into-mordor-sean-bean-530x312
Now, one can simply walk into Mordor!  (Source)
One thought on “Run Like A Nerd

Leave a Comment

