Bonus Blog

2016 Goals

firework 2
Happy 2016!

It’s hard to believe that it’s the last day of 2015. So many unexpected twists came my way, some good, some bad, and this blog happened to be one of them. (Don’t worry, it was one of the good twists.) I want to look back on 2016 in a similar way, so that’s why I’ve decided to set some New Year’s resolutions/goals. You, my readers, will help keep me accountable.

Blog Goals

I want to have better quality posts for 2016, and I think that starts with not procrastinating. To force me to write posts sooner and have more time to revise them, all posts will go up at noon Pacific Time (3 pm Eastern Time) on their respective days.

I’ve noticed that jewelry tutorial posts are pretty popular, so for 2016 I’d like to have more of them. Every third Tuesday, I will publish a new jewelry tutorial post.

I’ve also noticed that my Pintertest series is lacking a bit, so every second Friday, I will publish a new Pintertest post.

Other Goals

In 2015, I read 24 books, or an average of two a month. For Goodreads’ 2016 Reading Challenge, I’m planning to set a goal of 36 books, or an average of three a month. That way, there will be about three books in each of my Books and Beverages posts.

I’m also planning to get back into running, and I’ve set a goal of 300 miles for 2016. Let me know in the comments if you’d be interested in some occasional running bonus blogs!

Yellow Raspberry Jewelry is in need of a larger inventory, so my goal is to create and list one new item each week. I also want to re-photograph most of the current items, so I’ll plan to do two of those each week.

It looks like I’ve got my year cut out for me! I’m planning to stay on track with the help of Habitica (formerly HabitRPG), which is an app that helps keep you motivated to do things. I’ve been using it since 2014, and it turns your life into a role playing game where you earn coins by checking off tasks. With the coins, you can buy things for your avatar, or rewards for yourself in real life, like cookies. It basically turns that boring to-do list into a fun game.

What kind of goals or resolutions are you setting for 2016?

3 thoughts on “2016 Goals

  1. This is actually a really solid (and realistic) list of goals. For some reason I’ve had a hard time coming up with a conclusive list for the things I want to accomplish this year. Hopefully your post will help me think of some things I want to get done in 2016. Happy new year, Steph!

    Like

Leave a Comment

