Books and Beverages

Books and Beverages (#5)

July caught me off guard in how busy it was. Summer classes and preparations to reopen my Etsy shop have been huge time sucks and left me with little time to read. (My Etsy shop will be reopening in a week, so there’s not much to look at right now. Check the Jewelry section for sneak previews.) I did manage to read one book, however, so it wasn’t a total loss. I guess that means that this month, Books and Beverages is a bit of a misleading title. It should probably read Book and Beverages, but for the sake of continuity I kept it the same. I’m still ahead on my Goodreads 2015 reading goal, which I increased to 20 books, so I could afford to read only the one book. However, I don’t think I’ll be accomplishing the Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge at this rate, but who knows.

Books

It Was Me All Along by Andie Mitchell

This is another one of those memoirs written by someone under 40. However, I found this one to be the more interesting and compelling one out of the three memoirs by young authors that I’ve read. (The other two being The Invisible Girls and Still.) Anyway, this memoir follows Mitchell’s relationship and journey with food from when she’s 5 to when she’s almost 30. As a child, food was used to fill the loneliness she felt from having an alcoholic dad and a mom who was working several jobs and rarely home. Throughout middle school and high school she tries a few fad diets and experimental weight loss studies, but continues to gain. It’s not until after her freshman year of college when her mom comes to pick her up and is appalled at how much bigger she is. Without a scale during that whole year, she’s shocked to see that she’s nearly 300 pounds. She gets a gym membership and works out with a good friend and overhauls her relationship with food. She finds that eating more of something doesn’t make it taste more delicious and learns to savor her food. After a year or so, she loses a lot of weight and then finds herself facing another struggle with food in that she becomes obsessed with working out and counting calories, scared that she’s going to gain it all back. She seeks therapy, but still struggles with her relationship with food and her self-image. You’ll have to read it to see how it ends, because I felt like I’ve given away too much of the story already. This book is for anyone who has ever struggled in their relationship with food, which I’m pretty sure is just about everyone, including me. It’s also interesting if you’ve ever wondered how someone could let themselves gain so much weight and gets you to empathize and understand why. At the heart, it’s really a story about self-acceptance and following Mitchell’s journey as she finally starts to respect and love herself for who she is and who she was. The first half of the book is written very beautifully and has eloquent descriptions, but the second half kind of veers off that course a little bit and takes a different focus. There is a recipe in the back, which I think is probably going to end up in one of my baking posts given how deliciously it was described in the book. Oh, and Andie Mitchell even has a blog of her own called Can You Stay for Dinner?

Beverages

Teavana Shaken Iced Mango Black Tea Lemonade

The name is a bit of a mouthful, but I decided to try this at Starbucks the other day because they were advertising it as new. I’d had the Peach Green Tea Lemonade before and enjoyed it, so I figured I’d enjoy this one too. Fortunately, I was right. It was very good and very refreshing on a hot day. I tried to pace myself while drinking it, but it was still gone pretty soon.

Snapple LiberTEA

They had a six-pack of these for sale around the Fourth, so I figured I’d try it out. They combined red raspberry, white peach, and blueberry teas all into one beverage. It’s pretty delicious and also a great refreshment on a hot day. The flavors all kind of blend together for a nice fruity tea that makes you feel all patriotic inside.

2 thoughts on “Books and Beverages (#5)

Leave a Comment

