Jewelry

What to do with Leftover Beads

Sometimes I’ll find myself with a bunch of leftover beads after I finish a few projects. And more often than not, I have no idea what to do with the leftover, mismatched beads. I have heard of people making cool pieces from leftover beads, so I wanted to see if I could do it to. I threw together some leftover beads that went together and strung them up into a necklace. Here is the result:

What to do with leftover beads

At the top of the necklace toward the clasp, I used some clear pink seed beads. Then the necklace branches off into two strands. The two strands are made up of the bead mix I threw together. In it are some round faceted glass beads that have the aurora borealis finish, which reflects in blues and purples. There are also some pink rose quartz chips, bicone crystals with more of the AB finish, metal spacers, a few gray glass pearls, and some small black beads.

I think the necklace came together quite well and I’m glad I did the two strands because it gives it a sort of movement. I like the black beads for this reason as well, because they have so much contrast and your eyes are drawn to them. I also really like the pink tones, so this necklace could go with anything pink, or even black. Basically, I really like this necklace and that it came out so well after just throwing some things together.

I highly recommend trying this if you’re having any beader’s block. It really forces you to just start putting things together that you may have overlooked, and the results can be great.

An Unrelated Note

I’ve talked some on here about Etsy before, and even wrote a post on why it’s hard to sell jewelry on Etsy. Back in early 2014, I owned an Etsy shop. I had very little idea of what I was doing then and did not do very well. Now that I know a thing or two more, it’s occurred to me that all this jewelry I have made might as well be making me money instead of just sitting around in little plastic bags. So I’ve been pondering the idea of reopening shop, and I’d like your input on whether or not you would honestly consider buying any of the jewelry featured on this blog, either for yourself or to give as a gift. If so, let me know which pieces intrigue you, and if not, let me know what you’d rather buy instead. Also, if you have any honest opinions on my photography, please share anything constructive. Your input will help me to decide if reopening is a good idea, and what I should sell if I do. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “What to do with Leftover Beads

  1. I love how glitzy this is! Even though everything is mismatched it’s all so cohesive. As for the Etsy shop, I’d like to see all the pieces you’re considering putting in your shop. I would definitely be interested in some bracelets or something.

    Like

    1. Thanks! There will be about 50 things going up for sale. I need to retake pictures of everything, but I’m planning to reopen on August 1. I also discovered I can’t sell the charm bracelets that are based off of TV shows and the like. (Copyrights and all that.) So let me know if you’re interested in one of those. 😉

      Like

Leave a Comment

