Jewelry

Fourth of July Earrings

I found these cool fiber optic beads at Shipwreck Beads forever ago. Fiber optic beads are cool and remind me of cat’s eye beads in that they kind of reflect the light, but fiber optic beads have a more metallic reflection. I thought that they would be great for some sort of patriotic jewelry, but I didn’t have any particular design in mind. Then one day it came to me and I made these awesome earrings that look like America (minus the hamburgers and fried chicken). Since I had two different styles of fiber optic beads, I made two different pairs of earrings.

Stars and Stripes Earrings

The fiber optic beads are the ones in the middle, and you can see the stars at the top and the stripes below. There is also a cluster of red, white, and blue Czech glass beads dangling from the bottom. I used gunmetal findings because I thought it looked better than silver.
The fiber optic beads are the ones in the middle, and you can see the stars at the top and the stripes below. They kind of remind me of Captain America. There is also a cluster of opaque red, white, and blue Czech glass beads dangling from the bottom. I used gunmetal findings because I thought it looked better than silver.

American Flag Earrings

This pair has the same basic design as the previous one, only the beads are different. The fiber optic beads in this pair have mini American flags on them. And the Czech glass beads are transparent, not opaque. These really remind me of the Fourth since the transparent beads look more like fireworks to me.
This pair has the same basic design as the previous one, only the beads are different. The fiber optic beads in this pair have mini American flags on them. And the Czech glass beads are transparent, not opaque. These really remind me of the Fourth since the transparent beads look more like fireworks to me. These too have gunmetal findings.

Unfortunately, Shipwreck Beads has stopped carrying the fiber optic beads shown in this post, but if you’d like to buy the red, white, and blue mix, the link is below. Happy Fourth of July to all my American readers!

Red, White, and Blue Czech Glass Bead Mix

2 thoughts on “Fourth of July Earrings

Leave a Comment

