Baking

Pintertest #1: Rolo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is a new type of baking post that I’ve been talking about doing for a little while. I settled on the name that Yvette suggested, Pintertesting. I believe that those odd yet creative recipes on Pinterest need testing and someone needs to test them to make sure they actually work. There won’t be pictures of all the steps of the recipes in these posts, but they will focus more on the end product.

I was skeptical about these Rolo stuffed cookies, so I decided to make them to see if it worked. It took me a little while to click all the links to find the original post, which is here. You can also view the original recipe there as well, but I’m not going to post it here since someone already has on their blog.

My Thoughts

I have only a few minor complaints about this recipe. It makes way more than 30 cookies, in fact it makes about 48. When I made these, I halved the recipe because I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with 4 dozen cookies. My second complaint is that it says to preheat your oven at the beginning, but then in the middle of the directions it says to freeze the cookie dough balls for 15-20 minutes. So I preheated my oven when I put them in the freezer to avoid the oven being on unnecessarily.

I put the Rolo-stuffed dough balls all together in a loaf pan. They didn't stick too badly and fit into my freezer better.
I put the Rolo-stuffed dough balls all together in a loaf pan. They didn’t stick too badly and fit into my freezer better.

The good news is that the cookies were delicious. They come out and they’re all gooey and warm and chocolate gets everywhere. Then there’s the little caramel-y Rolo surprise in the middle. I made these with the optional pecans, which go great with the chocolate and caramel.

So gooey and delicious. This recipe is well worth trying out.
So gooey and delicious. This recipe is well worth trying out.

I imagine you could also make these with store-bought cookie dough if you don’t feel like making the dough from scratch.

If you want to see what other recipes may be appearing in future Pintertest posts, check out the sidebar where there’s a link to the Pinterest board, which is a collaboration between me and Yvette. If you know of any other recipes on Pinterest that look skeptical, let me know and maybe it’ll appear in the next Pintertest post.

7 thoughts on “Pintertest #1: Rolo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I think it’d be cool if you collected all the successful Pintertest recipes (with your revisions) in a little recipe box or something. It might even make a nice gift for somebody who loves a set of well-tested baking recipes.

    Like

Leave a Comment

