Jewelry

How to Make Eyeglass Chains

Learning how to make and repair eyeglass chains was one of the catalysts of my beading hobby. My mom kept having to buy eyeglass chains because they kept breaking and we little idea of how to fix them. I went online to look up how to repair them, and like any online search I was inundated with information that I wasn’t really looking for. Somehow I stumbled upon some ArtBeads tutorial videos on YouTube and started learning the basics of beading and jewelry making. I was determined to make some eyeglass chains that would last longer than their store-bought counterparts, and I succeeded; my mom has had the pair I made her for several years, although they have needed a few minor repairs here and there. Another bonus is that hers are the colors of the New Orleans Saints, her favorite football team.

These make great unique gifts for all those people who complain about misplacing their glasses. They’ll be able to wear their glasses in another way and always know where they are. However, some people might feel old by receiving this gift, so give with caution.

How to make eyeglass chains
These are now up for sale in my Etsy shop! Check them out here!

In this tutorial, I’m going to show you my basic formula for making durable and pretty eyeglass chains. I derived this basic formula from another set of eyeglass chains, and it’s worked out pretty well so far.

Supplies:

Step 1:

Open a jump ring and attach an eyeglass grip. Close the ring. Repeat for the other grip.
Open a jump ring with the pliers and attach an eyeglass grip. Close the ring. Repeat for the other grip.

Step 2: String a crimp bead, jump ring with attached grip, and string back through the crimp bead. Crimp using the crimping tool and attach an optional crimp cover.

Step 3:

Line up the crimp bead with the 12
Line up the crimp bead with the 12″ mark on your beading board. String seed beads until you reach the 10″ mark. String a larger bead, and then more seed beads until you reach the 9″ mark. String another larger bead and then more seed beads until you reach the 8″ mark. String another larger bead.

Step 4:

Continue stringing beads until you reach just before the 8
Continue stringing beads until you reach just before the 8″ mark on the other side. Repeat the pattern in Step 3 in reverse. Make sure your larger beads line up on either side.

Step 5: Continue stringing seed beads until you reach just before the 12″ mark. String a crimp bead, jump ring with attached grip, go back through the crimp bead and a few more beads. Crimp, and attach the last optional crimp cover. Trim any excess wire.

Finished Product

I used oval jump rings for this because I found that the wire tends to slip out of the gap in the oval jump ring less than with a normal jump ring. I also used a pre-made seed bead mix, which can save a lot of time and grief, but you’re welcome to make your own if that makes you happy. I’ve made two other designs which I’ve included below.

Goldstone Eyeglass Chain

How to make eyeglass chains

Seahawks Themed Eyeglass Chains

How to make eyeglass chains

Black and White Eyeglass Chains

DSCN1536

Pink and Gold Eyeglass Chains

pgec2

 

2 thoughts on “How to Make Eyeglass Chains

Leave a Comment

