Jewelry

Supernatural Charm Bracelet

If you’re a fan or spend any time on Twitter or Tumblr, then you most likely know that tomorrow is the season 10 finale of Supernatural. I’m going to be completely honest with you and say that I haven’t watched a wink of season 10 and don’t intend to catch up, but I know the basic gist of the plot (thanks, Twitter). At this point, if you want to know why I quit watching, then read on. If you don’t care why I quit watching, then you can scroll past this next paragraph.

I don’t get why Supernatural is getting more hype, even though (to me) the show seems to be losing quality. Seasons 1-5 were spectacular and the story arc was well planned. Then the creator, Eric Kripke, left the show to start Revolution and the plot line went to purgatory (literally). The plot line of seasons 6-10 makes little sense compared with that of 1-5. It’s all over the place and frankly is becoming very predictable. After the season 9 finale, I accurately predicted what would happen in the beginning of season 10. I knew what was going to happen, so there was absolutely no suspense. And any threat of one of the main characters getting killed of is an empty one. It would have been great to end the show on a high note after season 5, but it’s been dragged out another 5, soon to be 6. I’m still a fan of the show, just not of anything after season 5.

This bracelet has a total of 6 pweter charms and red and black accent beads.
This bracelet has a total of 6 pewter charms and red and black glass accent beads.

If you’re looking for something to augment your fan experience, you might consider making a charm bracelet. Similar to my Game of Thrones charm bracelet, this one is balanced between charms and beads. I don’t like bracelets that are made of only charms without anything to break the monotony. I imagine those bracelets would be heavy and also noisy, like wind chimes every time you moved your arm. That’s why I like to add in some colorful accent beads. Like their charm counterparts, the accent beads represent something in the show, and also complement the charms.

Supernatural Charm Bracelet - left side
The left end of the bracelet. The charms shown in close up from left to right are: a slice of pie (for the countless times Dean eats it) and a baseball cap (for Bobby).

For the Supernatural bracelet I decided to use red and black accent beads. If you know about the show, then you know it’s pretty gory, so that’s why I chose red. The black comes from the color of the “demon smoke” and it’s also a color strongly associated with monsters. The different shapes and sizes of the beads add interest.

This picture shows the other 4 charms in close-up. From left to right they are a pistol (for the Colt), a pentagram (for obvious reasons), a sword (for the angel blades), and a wing (for Castiel).
This picture shows the other 4 charms in close-up. From left to right they are: a pistol (for the Colt), a pentagram (for obvious reasons), a sword (for the angel blades), and a wing (for Castiel).

I struggled a bit to find charms for this one and was unable to find a salt shaker charm. In the show, salt wards off ghosts and other spirits like demons. All things considered, I think I did a pretty good job in finding meaningful charms.

Anyway, if you’re planning to watch the finale tomorrow, I hope you enjoy it!

4 thoughts on “Supernatural Charm Bracelet

  1. I agree with you on the charms. It also makes it feel like you can only wear the bracelet when something Supernatural/any other fandom related thing is going on. With the addition of different beads, it can be a subtle everyday bracelet.

    Like

Leave a Comment

