Jewelry

Game of Thrones Charm Bracelet

A Song of Ice and Fire has got to be one of my favorite book series. The show is pretty good, too, and can stand on its own, but I still think the books are better. There are subtleties and other details that may have been omitted or changed from book to TV, and I think the little things are important. Anyway, enough ramblings from me. If you want to read blogs on books check out my first Books and Beverages post, and check out xo, Yvette’s March Book Talk.

Fan jewelry has always been one of my favorite things to make and wear. It’s like a T-shirt that you can wear everyday, but from a distance just looks like any other ordinary piece of jewelry. I think charm bracelets make the best sort of fan jewelry, and since I love Game of Thrones, it was natural that I had to make a Game of Thrones charm bracelet. And what better time to write about it than two days after the season five premiere?

Game of Thrones Charm Bracelet with Stark Colors

I chose to do the Stark colors (grey and white) for this bracelet because if I lived in Westeros I would probably pledge my allegiance to them. Let’s be honest, they’re much more likable than the Lannisters (Tyrion’s pretty awesome, though). Anyway, it’d be easy to swap out the grey pearls and white diamond-shaped Czech glass beads for any other family’s colors, which is something that I love about charm bracelets. They’re so easily customized if you want to sell them or make some for friends. (This was one of the things that I actually sold in my short run on Etsy, and it had plenty of favorites as well.)

Game of Thrones Charm Bracelet Left
This is one half of the bracelet showing four charms up close: Trout: House Tully; Falcon: House Arryn; Wolf: House Stark; Stag: House Baratheon.
This shows the other half of the bracelet and the other four charms: Lion: House Lannister; Rose: House Tyrell; Kraken: House Greyjoy; Dragon: House Targaryen.
This shows the other half of the bracelet and the other four charms: Lion: House Lannister; Rose: House Tyrell; Kraken: House Greyjoy; Dragon: House Targaryen.

I like to put at least one non-charm bead in between the charms so that it gives the bracelet some interest. I have seen other charm bracelets that are made entirely out of charms, and varying in amounts. I think that a handful of charms on a charm bracelet and nothing else looks lazy because it’s pretty simple to attach charms to a chain. (Look up any video on how to open and close a jump ring, and you’ll see what I mean.) On the other hand, it looks less lazy if the chain is laden with charms but I think the bracelet would be a little heavy and none of the charms hold their own, so to speak. I like a charm bracelet with good balance because you get some color, some charms, and it’s not too heavy. Of the Great Houses, I had to leave out House Hightower and House Martell because there was not enough room and these houses have lesser roles in the books thus far. Perhaps I will have to redesign it if that changes.

Fan jewelry is awesome, whether it’s for sports teams, books, movies, or TV shows. If you’re looking to buy some, Etsy is definitely your best bet and will usually have a wide range of options.

5 thoughts on “Game of Thrones Charm Bracelet

  1. I love the composition of this bracelet! I don’t watch Game of Thrones and I haven’t read the book so I couldn’t tell you what the charms represent and I think that’s the best part of fandom related charm bracelets. They’re kinda like inside jokes.

    Like

Leave a Comment

