Bonus Blog · Travel

Spring Break: Hawaii

I don’t usually do anything interesting for school breaks, but this spring break one of my friends invited me to go to Hawaii with her. Naturally, I took her up on the invite.

Yellow Hibiscus
I was expecting to see luscious tropical vegetation at every turn, but there was a lot of brown grass like you might see in a desert. I guess this is the volcano’s fault.

There are a lot of things that still don’t make sense to me about Hawaii.

  1. Why isn’t Honolulu on the big island? I’m sure there’s some reason, so if you know it, I’d love to learn something new.
  2. Hawaii is part of the US, yet if you need medical care, you’re probably better off on the mainland. Seriously, why are there not more doctors in Hawaii? Who wouldn’t want to get paid tons of money as a doctor and live in an island paradise? It’s a win-win.
  3. Parts of the big island are pretty much all brown. I understand about the volcanoes and such, but I was kind of surprised when we got there and it was more brown than green. I was expecting green, not a desert.

Now that those are out of the way, let’s get into the details. I did a lot of fun things like look at a volcano (sadly, no lava), boogie board for about five minutes, eat some Hawaiian shave ice, watch a sunset, tan on the beach, tan by a pool, snorkel and look at fish, and whale watching. I also bought a sun hat. (I recommend buying one before leaving because it will be at least $5-$10 cheaper, depending on the hat.) I will spare you all the boring photos I took and simplify it down to the handful of my favorites.

Here are some pretty palm trees by a pretty ocean view. I was very happy with all the green in this area.
Here are some pretty palm trees by a pretty ocean view. I was very happy with all the green in this area. Past the palm trees is a black sand beach. There was a trail to hike down to it, but we weren’t wearing good hiking shoes at the time.
A gorgeous sunset framed in between two trees.
A gorgeous sunset framed in between two trees.
The air coming from these vents was warmer than I expected. If you stuck your hand in one for long enough, it'd probably come out with a burn. The vents also stink like rotten eggs, which is something else you don't get from the picture.
The air coming from these volcanic steam vents was warmer than I expected. If you stuck your hand in one for long enough, it’d probably come out with a burn. The vents also stink like rotten eggs, which is something else you don’t get from the picture. (See how brown it is?)
The beaches around Kona are known to be shark-infested, so the locals leave them to the tourists. We'd been boogie boarding for five minutes before they called everyone out because a shark was sighted. That's how I was able to get a picture of a beach without any swimmers or tourists in it. No sharks in this shot either.
The beaches around Kona are known to be shark-infested, so the locals leave them to the tourists. We’d been boogie boarding for five minutes before they called everyone out because a shark was sighted. That’s how I was able to get a picture of a beach without any swimmers or tourists in it. No sharks in this shot either. 
This is a what a whale looks like when it's breaching. We couldn't get any closer because the waters were getting choppy. It was a wonder I didn't drop my camera in the water.
This is a what a whale looks like when it’s breaching. We couldn’t get any closer because the waters were getting choppy. It was a wonder I didn’t drop my camera in the water.

There you have it. My final verdict is that Hawaii is dangerous. You could burn your hand in a steam vent, get eaten by a shark, drop your camera off the side of a rocking boat, and never want to return to the mainland. I highly recommend going. (I apologize for the lack of tropical fish pictures. Somehow I couldn’t get my camera to work under water. Technical difficulties.)

3 thoughts on “Spring Break: Hawaii

Leave a Comment

