Bonus Blog · Books and Beverages

Books and Beverages (#1)

I’m back from the short hiatus with the first in a new series of posts. I figured I’d give this a shot to branch out a bit from my usual beading and baking posts. I don’t want my blog name to limit me to what I can post. I also don’t want to change the name because I really like it and it took me a lot of brainstorming to come up with. Anyway, in these new Books and Beverages posts, I’ll clue you in as to what I’ve been reading and drinking recently. You can expect a new Books and Beverages post on the last Saturday of every month at approximately 2 pm PT / 5 pm ET. And so it begins.

Books

A little while ago on xo, Yvette, she mentioned the Popsugar 2015 Reading Challenge. It sounded pretty fun to me, so I decided to give it a go. On Goodreads, my 2015 goal is to read 15 books, compared to the 52 books for the Popsugar challenge. So I know I’ll get to at least 15 of the 52 books, and I’ve already completed five. If you’d like to keep up with me on Goodreads, check out the sidebar.

Still: Notes on a Mid-Faith Crisis by Lauren F. Winner
“A book a friend recommended”
This was a pretty quick read. Each chapter was an anecdote of something the author had learned from her experiences. Her mother passed away and she got divorced and soon found that she had lost touch with God. She struggled through these rough times and eventually became an Episcopal priest. Overall, an interesting story of triumph.

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
“A book with magic”
Never in a million years did I think I’d ever read a book about faeries. This is the first in a trilogy, and I hope the other two books are better because I didn’t think this one was all that great. Two of the main themes of the book were science vs. art and technology vs. nature. It seemed to be very one-sided in these issues, praising art and nature and condemning science and technology. I’m hoping as the series progresses it becomes more balanced.

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
“A book with a number in the title”
I never read this book in high school and felt that I was missing out. The challenge gave me the perfect excuse to read finally read it. It was a really short read and I liked how it got to the point. Although I’m sure it would have been nice to read this in a classroom setting where everyone can share their opinions, I’m glad I got to read it on my own and didn’t have to write an essay on it, just a paragraph in a blog post.

The Godfather by Mario Puzo
“A mystery or thriller”
There are actually a lot of books on my list for this challenge that could classify as a mystery/thriller. I figured that I enjoy enjoy watching mystery/thrillers, so hopefully I’d enjoy reading them as well. And I did indeed enjoy The Godfather. I’ve heard the movie is good and I’ve always wanted to watch it, but of course I had to read the book first. It reminded me a bit of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire in that there are several families in a power struggle, the major difference being the time periods and the technology associated with them. Oh yeah, and The Godfather doesn’t have magic or dragons or white walkers.

The Fellowship of the Ring: Being the First Part of the Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
“A book with more than 500 pages” *
The first part of The Lord of the Rings.* Finally I’m getting around to reading this and eventually I’ll watch the movies too. This is my favorite so far, probably because it’s a good fantasy novel. I now understand some LOTR references and it makes me really happy because I feel like a true nerd. I will say that reading about Frodo and his journeys has made me want to go on a long hike really bad.

Beverages

Tea. I’ve been drinking lots of tea. I could list off all the teas I’ve had in the past month, but that would make this post unnecessarily long. Recently Starbucks started offering Teavana brewed teas in their stores. I’ve always wanted to buy some Teavana loose leaf tea because it seems good, but I didn’t know what kind to buy. So I’ve been sampling the teas from Starbucks and there a couple that I’ll have to buy to brew at home.

Pineapple Kona Pop
This herbal tea really does taste like pineapple, and it smells amazing. I also love it because it’s so unique. How many other brands make a pineapple tea? It’s definitely something different from all the typical tea flavors out there, which is one thing I really like about Teavana. I highly recommend trying this one, especially if you like pineapple. (Photo is from Starbucks website.)

Passion Tango
This is another herbal tea. It’s got a great fruity flavor with a hint of cinnamon. At first I wasn’t sure how the cinnamon was going to work with it, but it really did. It adds another layer to the tea that keeps you going back for more. (Photo is from Starbucks website.)

That’s all for now. I won’t be taking another hiatus for a while, so no worries there. In fact, I’ll be posting some time next week about what I did during the hiatus. I hope you like pictures of tropical landscapes, volcanoes, beaches, and sunsets over the water.

Edit: *Originally, The Lord of the Rings was the trilogy I was planning to read for the Popsugar challenge. Then I read the note on the text at the beginning in which it says that The Lord of the Rings is not a trilogy, but one big novel sometimes published as three separate volumes. (The movies, however, are a trilogy.) For accuracy’s sake, I decided to change it from the trilogy to the book with more than 500 words.

5 thoughts on “Books and Beverages (#1)

  1. At the rate you’re reading, you’ll surpass your reading goal in no time! I love the concept of sticking books and beverages in the same post. There’s nothing like sipping on your favorite drink while you dive into another world.

    Like

    1. It’d be great if I could read all 52 books because I’ve never read nearly that many in one year. Thanks! I’ve always thought having a coffee shop in a bookstore was a great idea, so why not continue it in a blog?

      Like

Leave a Comment

